MVP: Tom Brady


TB12 brought home the award, and I think that was probably the correct decision. The Patriots weren't the juggernaut that all the "experts" thought they would be, but they were still the best team in the NFL, yet again. Brady was poised to win the award again once young gun Carson Wentz went down with an ACL. Todd Gurley was also getting some ground swell but in our NFL today, QB is king. I'm sure TB12 is happy to receive this trophy, but the one that he really wants will be decided tomorrow.

Man of the Year: JJ Watt

I think most of us already gave Watt this award before the season even started. Watt didn't get to have the NFL season that he would have liked, but I think this is a great consolation prize. Watt raised an obscene amount of money in efforts to help the Houston area in wake of the hurricane Harvey tragedy. Over $37M is definitely worth this award. Well done JJ.

NFL Coach of the Year: Sean McVay

In my personal opinion, this was absolutely the correct decision. I also believe that anyone that has an opinion otherwise needs to revisit how they felt about Jared Goff after last season. If all McVay did was turn Goff from a bust to a Pro Bowler, that would have been enough to win the award for me. However, that's not all he did. McVay also led the Rams to the NFC West title and turned a flailing offense into a dynamic unit that could go off any week, and did most weeks. The Rams are a young, up and coming team and that goes for McVay as well.

Offensive Player of the Year: Todd Gurley

TGIII has been one of my favorite players from back with he was a freshman at UGA. I have a good friend of mine, Ricky, that we would debate about him being the best freshman RB in the country. He came into the NFL a little unceremoniously, coming off a torn ACL. Last season was a lost season for Gurley, the Jeff Fisher led offense was about as bad as my son's 8 year offense, but this season was his year. Todd was the best RB in the league and that's saying a lot when Le'Veon Bell was still a part of it. Gurley was getting some steam to win the MVP, but that award has become the QB only club. Expect Gurley to continue to be in this discussion for years to come.

Defensive Player of the Year: Aaron Donald

I listed to a former offensive lineman talk about this award and they debated between Donald and Calais Campbell. Both are deserving players but his logic for picking Donald was this; as a lineman, the one player you don't want anything to do with is Aaron Donald. I never played in the NFL, so I'm going to take his take as golden, and say this was the correct decision as well. As a closet Jags fan, I would have loved CC to win, but Donald is an absolute maniac.

Offensive Rookie of the Year: Alvin Kamara

Has there ever been a year that 4 players could have won the award on any other given year? Kamara was the best of the bunch and was awarded for that. Kareem Hunt, Leornard Fournette or Christian McCaffrey could have won this award if it wasn't for the pure efficient dominance of Kamara. That's not even mentioning Deshaun Watson. This bunch of rookies, especially the backs are going to a whole lot of fun to watch for years to come. Kamara shared a backfield with Mark Ingram and could have an even bigger workload in the coming seasons.

Defensive Rookie of the Year: Marshon Lattimore

If anyone would care to listen to me, they would have heard me screaming from the rooftops about Lattimore. In his first season in the NFL, he has already established himself as a top level shut down CB, and a complete game changer for a defense. Lattimore did have some injury concerns, but when he was in the lineup, he was special. There were other defensive players that made a difference for their teams, but there wasn't a close second place to Lattimore for this award.

Comeback Player of the Year: Keenan Allen

Allen played a full, injury free season and showed just how good of a player he is. Unfortunately, Allen seems to be available for this award every other year. Allen is one of, if not the best short target WR in the NFL. Allen is going to keep producing at an elite level, especially with Rivers behind center. Here is to having Allen never be up for consideration for this award again.


Print Friendly and PDF